My cab driver shares his tragic state of love affair.

This is a story about love.

I was taking a cab to Pasir Ris Mrt after a wonderful lunch at a friend’s home when the conversation with the uncle turned to his Love life when I asked him how his day has been so far.

Turns out he was madly in love with a lady who was just too afraid of being together because of her complicated past. She has been separated from her husband for many years and has been living her life as widow with her three daughters. She is too afraid of what her children or society would say if she got married again at her advanced age.

He reminisces about the beginning stages of their relationship when she would be okay with kisses in dark alleys but today when they go out for lunch or dinner she would walk ahead of him so people wouldn’t know they are together.

“I love her alot. I don’t know how much longer I can live this way. But I love her too much to leave now. I gave her my word. I just wish she would live for herself instead of worrying what others thought of her.”

I sniffle a little and he hears me, and somehow he ends up comforting me, “I have been alone for so long, it is ok!”

I really hope things work out for him.

Cos you see, finding love in this disconnected world is so rare that when you get it, you should latch onto it as hard you can and fight to keep it alive. I think there can be nothing greater than to love someone and know that you are loved in return.

Leave a Reply

