On my way: Part 1

I have been working on my WPP essays and I was going through some of the questions with one of my friends. I think for some of the questions, I had begun to over-think it, and I realised that I should I have stuck with the initial idea that I had and just work on refining it. #progress

Actually, writing these essays has taught me a lot about myself over the past few weeks. I hadn’t really been able to commit to writing them down for the past few weeks because of all the events I was involved in but every moment that I had to spare, I was thinking about the questions and sort of rewriting drafts in my head. Its crunch time now and I am down to the wire and in typical fashion, I find this exhilarating. There is a certain adrenalin rush that flows through when you know this is the do or die moment; the moment which can change your life forever regardless of what happens next.

One of the question asks why I want to join the marketing industry? What about this industry makes me tick? I think this was one of the hardest questions because it has been so hard to pin down in words how I feel inside? In this day and age, not many people believe in the gut instinct because we are so used to rationalising everything we do. But the truth of the matter is, that as humans we are in fact irrational creatures, who make decisions based on feelings and it is once the decisions are made that we seek to rationalise why we did what we did. I mean, I never grew up thinking I was going to be part of this industry. To be perfectly honest, I didn’t even know such an industry existed.

Like most things in my life, I kind of accidentally found out about the side of marketing when I started doing events for the community and I had to market the events to residents. Then I got to work in a Brand consulting start up for my internship. This is really where I fell in love with the whole concept of marketing and branding. It was like the song from Aladdin “a whole new world” indeed! I was doing my best to be like a sponge and just learn as much as I could from my associates; I always like to understand how others who are better than me think. What is their thought process? How did they come to that conclusion? What is their work ethic? By understanding them, I was able to improve myself and I still use some of their techniques today.

I knew from then on, that this is the industry that I wanted to be a part of. The mix between creative and consulting. I have always had a great love for literature, art and science and in this environment I found that I was able to blend my love for all these together. Now I can use my research to analyse what’s going on and use that knowledge to determine how it would affect design for example.

What I found out during this period is simple. I know this is the industry that I want to work in. By hook or by crook, I will be part of this community.

Leave a Reply

